Mon, Dec 2nd
Make sure CER with 15.1 is turned in (ISB 11)
CW: Read remainder of 16.1. Do in-class wksht (ISB 15). If not finished, make sure this is ready to go by WEDNESDAY

Tue, Dec 3
Current Events in the Ocean Lab (ISB 17) (I'm expecting that some of you may be returning late from break. This lab may not be made up, but you are still responsible for getting the results from a classmate. Expect that the content of this lab is something that may be covered on your next quiz/test)

Wed, Dec 4
Discuss Lab results
Check 16.1 in-class wksht (ISB 15)
Specific heat demo
CW/HW: Review Scientific Method - independent and dependent variables (ISB 18) due tomorrow. Do only questions #1-5

Thu, Dec 5
Check Review Scientific Method HW
CW/HW: Spongebob Squarepants Scientific Method (ISB 19) due tomorrow. Those who are in class today will work in groups to solve 2 different scenarios. If you are absent, please try to do 3-4 on your own. Groups will be responsible for explaining/presenting one of their scenarios to classmates tomorrow.

Fri, Dec 6
Students will present Spongebob Sqaurepants HW (ISB 19)

CW/HW (ISB 20): 1. What are density currents?
2.Name two ways that a density current may form
3.In an area with high evaporation off the surface of the ocean, what would you expect the density of seawater to be? (High or low) Where would this water be expected to go? (up or down). EXPLAIN

Mon, Dec 9
Birmingham-Bloomfield Substance Abuse Survey. If you are absent for this, see me for make-up instructions.
Prep for Deep Ocean Currents Lab
Review Friday HW (ISB 20)

Tue, Dec 10
Deep Ocean Currents Lab #1 and #2
Students will split up and do Part 1 one day and Part 2 the other day. Part 2 can be done independently and Part 1 is an in-class lab. If you are absent, attempt to do Part 2 on your own.

Wed, Dec 11
Deep Ocean Currents Lab #1 and #2
Students will split up and do Part 1 one day and Part 2 the other day. Part 2 can be done independently and Part 1 is an in-class lab. If you are absent, attempt to do Part 2 on your own.

Thu, Dec 12
DELAYED START
Review results from Deep Ocean Currents Labs

Fri, Dec 13
Japanese Field trip Hrs 4,5,6
Introduce Deep Ocean Lab Part 3
QUIZ covering 15.1 and 16.1
Lab Procedure Handout


Mon, Dec 16
Activity: How to write a procedure

Tue, Dec 17
Video: Hot Planet; Cold Comfortand do in-class wksht (ISB 24)

Wed, Dec 18
Time to work on Deep Ocean Lab Pt 3

Thu, Dec 19
Time to work on Deep Ocean Lab Pt 3

Fri, Dec 20
SUB
Deep Ocean Lab Pt 3 due (you may turn this in Monday after break if you'd like due to the fact that I am not here today)
Video: Life and Times of El Nino